2006 in review

What did you do in 2006 that you’d never done before?
Loved my job.

Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year? Not sure I remember them. This may sound annoying but I’m so disciplined in personal goal setting and tracking that the whole New Year’s resolution thing is pretty anti-climactic.

What countries did you visit?
Beth, Peter & Charlie in England in mid October.

What would you like to have in 2007 that you lacked in 2006?
A boyfriend, and possibly a dog if my situation permits. (Hopefully not a boyfriend who is a dog.)

What dates from 2006 will remain etched upon your memory?
January 23 ─ First day at my company
March 11 – Alex’s bachelor party
March 27 ─ Charlie V’s birthday
April 25 ─ Michael John’s birthday
July 4 ─ Spending the week in Martha’s Vinyard with Mickey G and crew, and Cousin Kate
July 11 ─ Maggie’s birthday
August 4 ─ Board meeting prep night from hell
October 31 ─ Halloween with Spillah and crew
November 6 ─ Running the NYC Marathon with Ashleigh
December 8-10 ─ Mickey G’s NYC Christmas extravaganza

What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Changing jobs, moving downtown, dating more, getting my body fat down to 15%, being more at peace with myself and, accordingly, more accepting of others.

What was your biggest failure?
Not getting my finances in better shape.

Did you suffer from illnesses or injuries?
No. Actually, things improved: I slept a lot better and my knee got better.

What was the best thing you bought?
A real grown up Queen sized bed and super high thread count purple sheets.

Where did most of your money go?
Media and entertainment.

What did you get really, really, really excited about?
The future of media, especially music.

What song will always remind you of 2006?
Ask Me Anything ─ The Strokes

What album(s) will always remind you of 2006?
First Impressions of Earth – The Strokes
Game Theory – The Roots
It’s Never Been Like That ─ Phoenix

Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? Happier.
b) thinner or fatter? Thinner
c) richer or poorer? Richer.

What do you wish you’d done more of?
Dating, seeing live music, rocking cool duds, having free-wheeling convo with creative folk.

What do you wish you’d done less of?
Fucking around aimlessly on the Internet for hours and days on end.

How will you be spending New Year’s Eve?
With my beloved pals in my beloved hometown.

Did you fall in love in 2006?
I fell in love with my life, which is not to say there isn’t room for more good stuff (like a dude, and more creative work, and a canine pal for Aretha).

How many one-night stands?
A real lady doesn’t kiss and tell.

What was your favorite TV program?
The Office

Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
I’m a lover, not a hater.

What was the best book you read?
As a Man Thinketh by James Allen

What was your favorite film of this year?
The Science of Sleep

What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
Got my belly re-pierced. Threw a party for myself at a baller lounge space with good tunes and good friends. Closed out the night at Sing Sing when they kicked us out at 5:45 a.m. Thirty-one.

What one thing would have made your year measurably more satisfying?
An even more creative position … the ability to pick my projects, work with artists, musicians, and all kinds of creative folks. To be less chained to the office, to dress as I please. To laugh more every day and really let my light shine.

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2006?
Can I wear my Vans?

What kept you sane?
Millie, my shrink, Lamont my personal trainer, 10 mg of Lexapro/day.

Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Bond, James Bond.

What political issue stirred you the most?
Iraq.

Who did you miss?
Dave Chapelle and Jimmy Fallon.

Who was the best new person you met?
My boss.

Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2006. True friends can grow separately without growing apart.

Leave a comment

Filed under art, love, media, movies, music, uncategorized, zen shit

Leave a Reply

