I’m sorry, Col. But you did not receive a rose tonight. Please take a moment, and say your goodbyes.

The irony of being dumped whilst watching a girl get dumped during The Bachelor season finale? Wow. How many can claim such a surreal experience?! How few, that is. And as of tonight, the latest item on the long lists of reasons I am special.

As much as it might displease some of you, I won’t be talking smack on this hallowed space about the dude who dumped me. I think he’s pretty fantastic and I wish good things for him. But a solid hard-earned center, girlfriends and blogs are such good things to return to. I am already imagining the streams of validating comments that are gonna come pouring in in response to this post. Wow! Thanks. Even if he didn’t, you guys and dolls out there love me. That’s worth a lot!

So in the solo car ride back home to Bank Street, here’s what I’m saying to that vulturous limo cam amid my sniffles: I don’t regret it. I learned I can put myself out there. And when my worst fear is realized: rejection and abandonment, I don’t crumble. I can deal! Sure, I cried a lot of tears the past 3 days and there may be a couple more. But fundamentally I’ll be fine. Now I’m closer to knowing what I want (and don’t want). What I can (and can’t) handle. Also, a fairly clean break after 4 months is, on the breakup spectrum, not that terrible. So don’t cry for me Argentina, or Chris Harrison. But if you are inclined to show me some chin up love, I wouldn’t mind it at all.

4 Comments

Filed under love, uncategorized, zen shit

4 responses to “I’m sorry, Col. But you did not receive a rose tonight. Please take a moment, and say your goodbyes.

  1. spillah

    All the chin-up love in the world!

    (And I’ll refrain, for now, from saying it’s going to bite him in the ass.)

    Use your imagination, and I’ll use my digital recorder: if 7 orphan boys screaming/singing “Rainbow in Kathmandu” can be construed as more chin-up love (as I think it very much can), well, baby, this one’s for you.

  2. Kate Harding

    Oh, dude. If Spillah missed any of the chin-up love in the world, I’m sending the rest.

    I’m sorry.

    Sounds like you’ve learned a lot of good shit, though. Knowing more about what you want/don’t want is pretty huge.

    And of course, you were awesome before him, and you’re still awesome now. Maybe even more awesome.

  3. Lost

    Girl….so sorry. You sound really clear and the most important you learned about yourself. If anything, learning what you want and what you need is key.

    Never settle, girl.

    Once I get the 4-1-1 from you, I’ll breakout my voodoo doll and we’ll only think “nice” thoughts about him.

    You rock, girl. You are my Zen Master!

  4. Cynical Girl

    All through my wild days
    My mad existence
    I kept my promise
    Don’t keep your distance
    Argentina…

Leave a Reply

