the winds of change

Everything’s changing. I accept it. Not sure where it’s heading, but it feels really good to stay true to myself and keep blazing my own path. Coincidentally, I just finished Eckhart Tolle’s A New Earth. It was totally satisfying to see the concept of elevated consciousness validated by an expert. It’s something I’ve felt and perceived and struggled to discuss with others, but haven’t always found a receptive audience. Reading the book reaffirmed what I felt in my gut, and put words to concepts that I sensed but couldn’t articulate. It is a gift. Here’s an excerpt towards the end that’s helping me cope with my current reality.

There may be a period of insecurity and uncertainty. What should I do? As the ego is no longer running your life, the psychological need for external security, which is illusory anyway, lessens. You are able to live with uncertainty, even enjoy it. When you become comfortable with uncertainty, infinite possibilities open up in your life. It means fear is no longer a dominant factor in what you do and no longer prevents you from taking action to initiate change. The Roman philosopher Tacitus rightly observed that “the desire for safety stands against every great and notable enterprise.” If uncertainty is unacceptable to you, it turns into fear. If it is perfectly acceptable, it turns into increased aliveness, alertness and creativity.

 

Another thing that’s changing is the seasons. In another month or so, winter will subside and I’ll once again be pounding the pavement along the Hudson River. Then, along with Bro Kev and his darling GF Tara, I’m doing the San Francisco Half Marathon on August 3. Yay!

2 Comments

Filed under zen shit

2 responses to “the winds of change

  1. Bro Bri

    Sweet – a post-Coldwar Scorpions power-ballad! Can’t beat it, and truly one cannot fight the “winds of change.”

  2. linda k.

    i’m definitely sharing the uncertainty space with you. i feel like life is swirling around me, and i’m just going with the flow. that’s the only rational path to take–as difficult as it may be.

Leave a Reply

