Forgiveness

Forgiveness is the fragrance that the violet sheds on the heel that has crushed it.” — Mark Twain

The weak can never forgive. Forgiveness is the attribute of the strong.” — Mahatma Gandhi

pict72.jpgI try hard to be a forgiving person. It’s not easy.

Forgiving family and friends for hurts both accidental and deliberate. Forgiving bosses and co-workers, ex boyfriends and roommates for “being selfish” and “doing me wrong.” Forgiving the person who carelessly bumped into me on the subway, stole my seat or took my taxi. Forgiving myself for all the dumb, cowardly, weasely stuff I’ve ever done to myself and others.

The alternative: holding on to anger and resentments is a recipe for unhealthiness. It makes me sick – literally and figuratively. Sometimes it feels like it would be easier to move away, move on rather than forgive. But it never works. Moving on and away can be good no doubt, but you have to forgive too in order to be free and open to the good stuff. Without forgiveness there is no peace.

Forgiveness is not an occasional act. It is a permanent attitude.” ─ Martin Luther King Jr.

3 Comments

Filed under love, zen shit

3 responses to “Forgiveness

  1. Kristina

    Good post. Because of my naturally vindictive tendencies, I like to think of it as “compassionate detachment.” Some days the compassion part is easier than others. My idiot neighbors (in my building) are teaming up to build a go kart as their summer “project.” Hence I will be compassionately detaching from bumping into them even more than usual.

  2. John in IL

    I can never forgive Madonna for remaking American Pie

  3. i’m naturally vindictive too K … after all my hero is beatrix kiddo (from kill bill). this post is partly an attempt to overcome that. but dopey go cart making from loud and inconsiderate folks (these are the bongo players, right?), ugh. that’s tough.

    john, i wasn’t aware of that madonna cover. just watched the video on youtube. it’s a true american travesty.

Leave a Reply

