rip george

my dad always loved george carlin. him and richard pryor. and as a kid i didn’t quite get the appeal but i grasped the sense that these guys were cool badasses who cut through the BS in a way that made lots of grown ups love them. as the years unfolded, i never did develop much of an appreciation for george’s standup. i saw him as a sort of creepy, cranky negative guy. a hard-edged complainer, which didn’t sit well with my good girl sensibility and rosy demeanor. but as i became more authentic, allowed myself to get angry about all the shit in the world, i’ve begun to dig on george more.  there was a great interview with him in the november 2007 issue of interview magazine where he defines success as “finding something you love, finding that you’re good at it, and being recognized for that.” simple and true.

and here’s another one of his quotes i once posted here on col’s blog that i think is worth rehashing:

I don’t like ass kissers, flag wavers, or team players. I like people who buck the system. Individualists. I often warn kids, somewhere along the way, someone is going to tell you, ‘there is no i in team.’ What you should tell them is, maybe not. But there is an i in independence, individuality, and integrity.” –George Carlin

4 Comments

Filed under art, music, zen shit

4 responses to “rip george

  1. Even if you’ve become more “authentic”, I don’t see you losing your rosy demeaner. That’s just in you (for whatever reason). It takes a ton of debbie downers in the world to negate one col.

  2. superdave524

    I thought George was great. I think he got meaner as he got older, but he was still funny.

  3. Yes, as he got older he got a little too bitter at times for my tastes…but I still liked him and will miss him. Great quote choice!

  4. Linda K.

    I’ve always loved George Carlin–must be the rebel in me. And if you haven’t read any of his books, you’re in for a real treat. As I read the words, I hear George’s voice and see him dressed in black with his funny little pony tail.

    George was a great reality check in these fucked-up times. I’ll miss him.

Leave a Reply

