farewell fair friend …

Am pretty stunned today, shocked and not really grasping the fact that my dear friend John has left the Earth. He was so special, so genuine, so smart, so gifted, hilarious and generous. Only 33 years old, leaving behind an amazing woman, three children and a baby on the way. There’s no smart or soothing thing to say. He was in a serious accident back in June and over the past 4 months made amazing progress, coming back in a way that mystified doctors and lit up his family and friends with hope. He was released to inpatient rehab last week and suffered a pulmonary embolism yesterday during a session. Along with the whole college gang, I am heading out to Arkansas on Sunday for the funeral. I hate that these are the circumstances under which we are all finally visiting … we had long talked about having a trip to John’s home town … he often joked about how hokey it was … a town with only one stop light. Right now all my love and energy is focused on his wife, children, parents and brothers. I can’t imagine their pain. This all seems so senseless and cruel. The only positive in the near term is that I’ll get to see a bunch of my buds this weekend. John would like that — he was always bringing people together.

8 Comments

Filed under uncategorized

8 responses to “farewell fair friend …

  1. Oh what a wonderful tribute, cols.

  2. col

    thanks guys. i feel kinda weird posting this but then it’s part of having a personal blog. each one of you would have loved john too. and he you.

  3. John in IL

    How sad. more ((((hugs)))) from me.

  4. superdave524

    I remember the scene from the Big Chill where they played the Stones’ “You Can’t Always Get What You Want” at the funeral. I’m sorry your friend died. I hope you all find some joy at the funeral, anyway. You and your friends will be in my thoughts and prayers.

  5. Brady

    That’s awful. Definitely not what you needed. I’m sorry.

  6. Thanks y’all. We’re hanging in and all the more appreciative of having had the gift of John in our lives while he was here.

Leave a Reply

