one city: multiple lifetimes


runnergirlBeen reflecting on the different lives I’ve lived in NYC. P and I ran a roadrunner race on Sunday and I was thinking of how that used to be old hat. Getting up early and meeting at the park for a run was the bane of my existence.

Lately I’ve been struggling to kickstart my exercise routine. It was only 3 years ago that I ran my last marathon. Seems like ages tho. K and I are training for the SF half in July. In theory, anyway. I wonder when I will turn the corner back into my essential self … the one for whom fitness is like breathing. I miss her.

4 Comments

Filed under uncategorized

4 responses to “one city: multiple lifetimes

  1. superdave524

    Go, Col, Go! Breathing is good.

  2. Why Col, I had no idea you were a member of the tribe! Is running the door to one’s essential self? I think so, I hope it gets you there. I’ll be looking for you at races.

  3. Linda K.

    Sweetie–Your essential self is just taking a brief nap. You will rise again–I promise.

    lk

  4. Hey Col! I have this same thought. It’s now been 7 and a half years since I’ve run a marathon. I think I need to sign up for another one to get myself going on the exercise front!

    -C

Leave a Reply

